131 Abarth spark plugs

Competition engines and 'live' projects only. Good photos to illustrate your post are expected.
Peter de Wit

131 Abarth spark plugs

Post by Peter de Wit »

I ran into the following problem: After running at idle for 20min to go over some start ramp, I had constant misfires and no power at all. Changed the spark plugs to fresh ones and it was solved. But it surprised me. Had not run into spark plug problem since abandoning Golden Lodge's for Alfa Nord engines.

I use NGK V-power nr7's. What other ones should I try? These were trouble free for 1000km though.
Guy Croft
Site Admin

Re: 131 Abarth spark plugs

Post by Guy Croft »

You should be on NGK Race Div part B9EGV.

I am an agent for these.

If it it doesn't run properly on them there is some problem with compression/calibration - because it should run flawlessly.

I don't approve of using road plugs in race engines, no ho.

GC
Peter de Wit

Post by Peter de Wit »

Thanks, that makes things easy! Given that they are a 'race type' I would image they conduct the heat better. But would you say I would not have the same problem of them fouling at idle as I had?

And what would you suggest for the leads?
Guy Croft
Site Admin

Post by Guy Croft »

Peter,

you will not encounter any fouling problems at all if the fuelling is calibrated right. I have dynoed over and over with these under all possible conditions. If your fuelling is overly rich you need to address that - not, if I might just remark on it - fit er, 'hotter' plugs.

As for leads my own preference is based almost entirely on leads that don't 'part company' when you pull them off. Unfortunately NGK stopped making theirs years ago and I don't 'dress' engines these days so never buy them.

Over to other members for recommendations?

GC
Peter de Wit

Post by Peter de Wit »

I run too rich for sure! Will open a separate topic on whether 48IDFs are suitable for my engine.