V6 Mitsubishu 3L - carburettors vs fuel injection?

Competition engines and 'live' projects only. Good photos to illustrate your post are expected.
Beek

V6 Mitsubishu 3L - carburettors vs fuel injection?

Post by Beek »

I am in the process of installing a Mitsubishi 6g72, into a Lancia scorpion. (I have 2 current scorpion projects)
The 6g72 is a 4 valve / cylinder, 4 ohc, V6 in 3.0l displacement. The factory claims 222hp in naturally aspirated versions, and 330hp in Twin turbo applications.
The engine is almost complete:
10-1 compression, ported heads, +1mm stainless valves with a 30deg back cut. My dilemma is to adapt the fuel injection system to the scorpion, or to fabricate an intake manifold and install (3) 42 dcnf's. I envision the intake to look something like the 246 dino manifold. It will be a very short runner versus the 12+ inch runner length of the fuel injected manifold. Unfortunately I am not a learned engineer; I do realize that shortening the runner length will have some effect. My questions are:

1. How will horsepower be affected by deleting the fuel injection and going to carburetion?

2. Should I not try and reinvent the wheel, and just install the EFI system.

3. If I go with carburetors, how will the camshafts match up, as far as timing goes?

My goal is to have 220hp on tap in a less than 2000 pound vehicle.

Here is a picture of where the project is today.
6g72 -1.JPG
6g72 -1.JPG (513.63 KiB) Viewed 7312 times
6g72 -2.JPG
6g72 -2.JPG (492.91 KiB) Viewed 7312 times
GC approved
nickp

Re: carburetion vs fuel injection

Post by nickp »

Welcome fellow Lancia owner, I have a Monte here in the UK.

Personally I'd stick with the EFI, either in standard form (if you can get it to work OK) or preferably with a standalone ECU (Emerald, megasquirt etc etc).
DCNF's will cost you a small fortune and be a backwards step in my opinion. If you want that look then go for a Jenvey (or similar) DCNF throttle body setup.